Burgundy Appellations

Appellations are simply the identifying name or designation of wine. All French wines are classified according to this strict hierarchy, which is based on the control of the production. Here are the various Burgundy Appellations:

  1. Chablis – Throughout this appellation the only grape that can be used is Chardonnay. When purchase wines from this region you will find two distinct flavours. Basic Chablis will have flavours of green fruit and high acidity. Whereas, Premier Cru and Grand Cru styles will have flavours of riper fruit, more body and possibly creamier texture. These wines might also spend some time in oak barrels which will give them a smoky character.
  2. The Cote d’Or – Is considered the heartland of Burgundy because the best wines come from this region. Cote d’Or region is split into two areas north, Cote de Nuits and south, Cote de Beaune. Cote de Nuits is known for fuller bodied Pinot Noir and Cote de Beaune is known for lighter bodied Pinot Noir, as well premium Chardonnay.
  3. The Cote Chalonnaise – Is where we find a little value. Wines from this region are not as well known, so usually the prices are little bit cheaper, yet the quality could be just as good. Again you will only find wines made with Pinot Noir or Chardonnay.
  4. Macon – Is mostly recognized for Chardonnay, but you will find some Pinot Noir and or Gamy growing in this area. The typical flavours from this type of Chardonnay would be fresh green or citrus fruit, with a crisp acidity. The only difference to this would be wines that come from the Village of Pouilly – Fuisse AC. These wines are typically fuller bodied with flavour characteristics of peach, melon fruit with some savoury and nutty notes from the new oak barreling.
  5. Beaujolais – Is all about red wines and is known as red wine country. The grape of choice for this region is Gamay and the flavour characteristics are of raspberry, cherry fruit with a little more body in the wine. Beaujolais can be split into two distinct parts, to the east is Beaujolais and Beaujolais Nouveau and to the west, Beaujolais Villages and the Beaujolais Crus. Beaujolais and Beaujolais Nouveau are specifically made for early consumption. Beaujolais Village wines are usually blended from a few different villages with the region. Whereas, Beaujolais Crus are made for ageing and typically have more a fuller body. The wines are usually aged in large vats of oak.

Here is a wine map of the Burgundy Wine Regions.

About Dave Keighron

Dave Keighron has written 63 posts in this blog.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>